what planet rules each zodiac sign

Astrology Guide: What Planet Rules Each Zodiac Sign & Their Meaning

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

The 12 zodiac signs make up the foundation of the astrological horoscope. Each of them, however, has a ruling planet that provides the sign with its energy. It has the astrological definition to help you with birth chart interpretation.

In addition, knowing what planet rules each zodiac sign will help you better understand the energy and learn more about your cosmic characteristics.

12 Zodiac Signs and Their Ruling Planet

Each sign has a ruling planet, and each is associated with your sun sign. This sign sees your soul line that writes the narrative of your life. Like most signs, it shows how you present yourself to the world.

Aries: Ruled by Mars

Mars, as an Aries ruling planet, is fiery and passionate. The power and emotion it shares with Aries is an almost unstoppable force ruling over them. While everyone catches up, Aries leads the way. You have a positive attitude toward life and are willing to go to great lengths to accomplish your objectives.

Taurus: Ruled by Venus

Earth signs like Taurus are prone to focusing on such things, and Venus aids them in fully expressing themselves. If you’re under this zodiac sign, you place a high value on worldly possessions and faith in what you can see and feel. However, Venus, you give a deep dedication and commitment to those you care about.

Gemini: Ruled by Mercury

Mercury, the planet of communication, is the planetary ruler of Gemini. According to Roman Mythology, it’s the gods’ messenger that carries news and offers ideas. Mercury’s concentration on the mind drives Gemini. People born under this sign are as quick-witted and communicative as Mercury himself, and they carry the planet’s influence well.

Cancer: Ruled by the Moon

As part of the solar system, the Moon is an important and temperamental astrological luminary. Your emotions, Cancer, shift as fast as the tides. Perhaps this is due to the Moon’s rule, which is responsible for the ebbs and flows of human emotion.

However, Cancer seeks comfort and protection from other people. Your emotions may fluctuate frequently, but you always know what they are.

Leo: Ruled by the Sun

The sun, as a Leo ruling planet, symbolizes the light in the world. Your cosmos revolves around the sun, and Leo thrives on being the bright and shining center of attention. This one of the ruling planets shows off the uniqueness in yourself and the values of artistic expression.

Leo, you’re the most self-absorbed of all the zodiac signs, but you are also a selfless giver and a passionate lover. You know who you are and aren’t afraid to show it around the world.

Virgo: Ruled by Mercury

While Mercury controls Gemini as well, it has a unique manifestation in this earth sign. You Virgos, born to solve problems, are gifted communicators, and your ruling planet is no exception. You’re hyper-focused on sorting through the world’s noise in a systematic, exact way that leaves little to the imagination.

Libra: Ruled by Venus

Venus, as a Libra ruling planet, is shared with Taurus. Libra is an air sign with a strong desire for harmony and collaboration. It shines through in your deep commitment to unity and relationship, Libra. You take pride in being a good person and partner, and you seek out others who share those qualities.

Scorpio: Ruled by Pluto

You have a dark side, Scorpio. Maybe it’s because you’re ruled by Pluto, small yet one of the powerful ruling planets. Pluto is related to death, rebirth, and the subconscious. Moreover, people under this zodiac sign can connect to emotions and the subconscious, making them more powerful.

Sagittarius: Ruled by Jupiter

When Jupiter is your ruling planet, it feels like the world is yours, which is why those born under Sagittarius often feel compelled to adventure. Jupiter, the ruling planet of luck, good fortune, and expedition, is the ruler of the last fire sign. You want to see and do everything, and you’ll almost certainly have a good time doing it.

Capricorn: Ruled by Saturn

Saturn, as a Capricorn ruling planet, is likely to find the maturity to be a breeze. You know how to work hard and have fun at the same time. Capricorns can be harsh on themselves when things don’t go as planned. However, they’re always trying to learn from their mistakes.

Aquarius: Ruled by Uranus

Uranus, as an Aquarius ruling planet, represents originality and innovation. You’re unique and forward-thinking and always prepared to go above and beyond to help others. Continue to inspire other people to think beyond the box and learn new things in life, Aquarius.

Pisces: Ruled by Neptune

You’re bursting at the seams with creative expression and despising the hyper-realistic. Pisces, it’s your ability to exist in this dreamlike life that distinguishes you. You’re in touch with deep thoughts and feelings. So, allow yourself to connect to other people, Pisces.

Set Your Life’s Ruling Planets in Motion!

It’s vital to remember that you have free will, and just because the planets connected with your zodiac signs are “governing planets” doesn’t mean you can’t make changes in how you live your life. This blog is only a guide to help you make sense of the aspects of your life and the lives around you. Have an astrology lover in your life with a birthday coming up? Surprise them with one of these zodiac birthday cards customized with their very own star sign!